9 Songs to Discover March 20th-26th

9.Sting – “Petrol Head, One Fine Day”

A blistering new tune from Sting’s first rock album in over a decade. Says Sting:  “This one’s about a truck driver who’s obsessed with sex and religion. Only one of those things applies to me”.


8.The Orwells – “They Put a Body in the Bayou”

The Orwells are back in action kicking off their latest album, Terrible People, with the track “They Put A Body In The Bayou”. They are stripping down to basics in their upcoming album, sighting The Pixies’ simple guitar lines as a major inspiration. The straight forward guitar parts add immensely to The Orwell’s high energy garage rock. They also released a politically charged music video to accompany the track.


7.Marika Hackman – “Boyfriend”

Marika Hackman has ditched her crafted folk music on this sardonic, electrically confident track.  An early protege of Laura Marling, Hackman’s first record was gentle and patient. Her sophomore album I’m Not Your Man, featuring the London band Big Moon, is due June 2.


6.Little Dragon – “Sweet”

“It’s all about being addicted to a certain feeling, a high,” frontwoman Yukimi Nagano says of Little Dragon’s latest and digitally energetic single “Sweet”. The release of the song came with the announcement of their upcoming album Season High, out April 14.


5.Sylvan Esso – “Die Young”

North Carolina duo Sylvan Esso are set to release their sophomore record, What Now, April 28. The album will include 2016s previously released stand-alone singles “Radio” and “Kick Jump Twist”. Hear their latest, more subdued, but equally addictive offering, “Die Young”.


4.The Drums- “Blood Under My Belt”

After two and a half years, The Drums are back to their roots with a new song that’s instantly hummable. But don’t let the jangly guitars and hip shaking rhythm fool you; Jonathan Pierce, the only remaining founding member of the band, hides a message about heartbreak and regret beneath the deceptively upbeat tune. Check out more on the album, Abysmal Thoughts, out June 16th.


3.Portugal. The Man – “Feel It Still”

With their first single in over 3 years, Portugal. The Man brings their signature flare and quirky vibe to their latest release “Feel It Still”. Blending lead singer John Gourley’s trademark falsetto and the band’s new groovy, 60s inspired sound, be sure to look out for more new music off their upcoming album Woodstock.


2.Fleet Foxes – “Third of May / Odaigahara”

Fleet Fox’s upcoming album Crack-Up is a reflection on the relationship between lead singer Robin Pecknold and guitarist Skyler Skjelset. “Third Of May/Ōdaigahara” is the first single off the track as well as being the date they released their last album “Helplessness Blues.” The track features breathtaking harmonies and a folksy waltz that builds to a sweeping resolution, a promising start to their first album with the new label, Nonesuch records.


1.alt-J – “3WW”

“I just want to love you in my own language” sing Gus-Unger Hamilton and Joe Newman on this gentle and experimental new tune from alt-J, the first teaser for their upcoming album due out June 9th, Relaxer. As the song builds from a slight guitar instrumental to a full, emotional crescendo that also features vocals by Wolf Alice’s frontwoman, Ellie Rowsell, the group seems to create a new musical language.


Uncommon Newsletter

Music reviews, ticket giveaways, live performances & member specials.

Sign Up

We'll never sell your email, be boring or try to sell you on bad music.

in studio performances