‘The Electric Lady’ Tracklisting Revealed

Janelle MonaeAfter what seemed like an eternity since her debut album, Janelle Monae has reveled the track listing for her forthcoming sophomore effort, The Electric Lady. Due to release on September 10th, the album features a huge amount of big name collaborations. Along with her recently released single, “Q.U.E.E.N.” with Erykah Badu, The Electric Lady features Solange, Miguel, Esperanza Spalding, Cee-Lo Green, and Big Boi (who was a co-executive producer). Oh, and the legendary Prince will also feature on one of the tracks. Pretty good for her second album! Rounding up this huge list of big names is Sean “Diddy” Combs who is listed as a executive producer.

Monae also released two album covers along with an in-depth explanation behind the creation of the album artwork. According to Pitchfork, “the painting is titled ‘Cindi Mayweather and Her Sisters Cast a Spell Over the Good City of Metropolis’ and was painted ‘in the autumn of 2717’.” The standard album cover features six images of Monae striking curious poses while the secondary artwork (exclusive to the two disc deluxe edition only available at Target) is a singular Monae in some elaborate jewelry.

However, despite spending a good amount of years winning over crowds with her fabulous live performances and supporting various acts such as Of Montreal, Amy Winehouse, and Bruno Mars, Monae currently only has one scheduled tour date: supporting the amazing Chic for the iTunes Music Festival in London. Here’s hoping more tour dates are announced soon; she really puts on a fantastic show.

Tracklisting (via Pitchfork) for The Electric Lady:

01 Suite IV: Electric Overture
02 Givin Em What They Love [ft. Prince]
03 Q.U.E.E.N. [ft. Erykah Badu]
04 Electric Lady [ft. Solange]
05 Good Morning Midnight (Interlude)
06 PrimeTime [ft. Miguel]
07 We Were Rock and Roll
08 The Chrome Shoppe (Interlude)
09 Dance Apocalyptic
10 Look Into My Eyes
11 Suite V: Electric Overture
12 It’s Code
13 Ghetto Woman
14 Our Favorite Fugitive (Interlude)
15 Victory
16 Can’t Live Without Your Love
17 Sally Ride
18 Dorothy Dandridge Eyes [tt. Esperanza Spalding]
19 What an Experience
20 Q.U.E.E.N. [feat. Erykah Badu] [Wondamix] (Bonus)
21 Electric Lady [feat. Big Boi and Cee-Lo Green] [Dungeon-Wondamix] (Bonus)
22 HYTB (Bonus)
23 I Want You Back (Bonus)

By Stevie Dunbar

If you liked this, check out:
Beach House Scoring Film
Arctic Monkeys Share New Dreamy Music Video

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <iframe width="" height="" frameborder="" scrolling="" marginheight="" marginwidth="" src="">

Emerson College

To all WERS Members & Volunteers

THANK YOU! We had an awesome Live Music Week because of you! We exceeded our goal of 1000 donors and we couldn’t have done it without your support! We are working on sending your gifts now and you can expect to have them in 4 to 6 weeks. If you have any questions or concerns, […]