Yeah Yeah Yeahs Release New Music

Yeah Yeah Yeahs MosquitoAfter nearly four years since the release of their record, It’s Blitz! the Yeah Yeah Yeahs are making a long awaited come back with the release of a new album. Sure, we’ve heard material from members like lead singer, Karen O and guitarist, Nick Zinner in the past few years, but there is no denying the musical chemistry made between the three members of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. The first single off the album, Mosquito dropped today on Zane Lowe’s BBC1 radio show over in the UK entitled, “Sacrilege”. The song not only captures the unique sound that’s easily distinguished when hearing a track from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, but also throws in some new pizazz with the 20-piece choir that comes in mid-song. Karen O and a gospel choir, now did anyone see that one coming? “Sacrilege” gives a great first taste of what’s to come on Mosquito.

The album Mosquito in its entirety is to be released on April 16 featuring 11 new songs; as well as, a deluxe edition featuring four bonus tracks. The Yeah Yeah Yeahs took to a rundown studio in New York City to write and record the new album with the help of producers like Dave Sitek of indie band, TV on the Radio, and Nick Launay. In an interview done with front woman Karen O, she explains the new record with saying, “there’s a real tone, character, and style to it. And it’s probably some of the most tongue-in-cheek stuff that we’ve done in a while.” Guess we’ll have to wait until April to find out! Check out the complete tracklist for Mosquito and take a listen to “Sacrilege” below.

  1. Sacrilege
  2. Subway
  3. Mosquito
  4. Under the Earth
  5. Slave
  6. These Paths
  7. Area 52
  8. Buried Alive [ft. Dr. Octagon]
  9. Always
  10. Despair
  11. Wedding Song

By Shannon MacKay

If you liked this, check out:
Passion Pit “Carried Away” Music Video
New Releases Tuesday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <iframe width="" height="" frameborder="" scrolling="" marginheight="" marginwidth="" src="">

Emerson College

To all WERS Members & Volunteers

THANK YOU! We had an awesome Live Music Week because of you! We exceeded our goal of 1000 donors and we couldn’t have done it without your support! We are working on sending your gifts now and you can expect to have them in 4 to 6 weeks. If you have any questions or concerns, […]