Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Inductees Announced

Earlier this week the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame officially announced next year’s inductees. The list includes Progressive Rock pioneers Rush, female Classic Rock duo Heart, “You’ve Got A Friend in Me” singer Randy Newman, and Blues guitarist Albert King. They all managed to stand out among an impressive array of nominees that also included Kraftwerk, Chic, and Joan Jett and the Blackhearts. Quincy Jones will also receive the Ahmet Ertegun Award for his production work with legendary artists as Michael Jackson, Ray Charles, and Aretha Franklin.

This was the first year in the hall’s history that the public was allowed to vote in a collective “fan’s ballot” that was counted along with 600 other ballots from distinguished members of the music industry. The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony will be held at Los Angeles’s Nokia Theater on April 18 and broadcasted on HBO exactly one month later on May 18.

By Bond Collard

If you liked this, check out:
Springsteen & Black Keys to perform with Rolling Stones
Concert Watch: December 12th-13th

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <iframe width="" height="" frameborder="" scrolling="" marginheight="" marginwidth="" src="">

Emerson College

To all WERS Members & Volunteers

THANK YOU! We had an awesome Live Music Week because of you! We exceeded our goal of 1000 donors and we couldn’t have done it without your support! We are working on sending your gifts now and you can expect to have them in 4 to 6 weeks. If you have any questions or concerns, […]