Matthew Rasmussen Wins Poetry Awards

Recently, 2004 Emerson graduate Matthew Rasmussen won both the 2012 Walt Whitman Award from the Academy of American Poets and the 2012 McKnight Artist Fellowship for writers.

Each year, the Walt Whitman Award is given to an American poet who has yet to publish a book of poetry. Poet Jane Hirshfield was the judge for this year, and she chose Rasmussen’s manuscript “Black Aperture” as the winner. It will be published by Louisiana State University Press in the Spring of 2013.

With his other recent award, the McKnight Artist Fellowship for Writers, Rasmussen will receive a stipend of $25,000 in order to give him the chance to study, reflect, experiment, explore, and hopefully delve into new opportunities and projects. Daniel Tobin, the School of Arts interim Dean, and one time professor of Rasmussen, says, “it’s a major debut for a truly deserving young poet.” Rasmussen says he hopes to use this time to promote “Black Aperture” as well as get started on a second book.

These are not the first acknowledgements that the poet has received. Rasmussen is the recipient of multiple grants and residencies, has been published in several journals such as Gulf Coast and Dislocate, is the founding co-editor of Birds, LLC, an independent poetry press, and the author of a chapbook titled Fingergun.

By Kali Rohrbaugh

One Response to Matthew Rasmussen Wins Poetry Awards

  1. Howdy. Very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful .. I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also…I am glad to locate so much useful information here in the post. Thank you for sharing.

    Chaussures de football June 1, 2012 at 11:32 PM Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> <iframe width="" height="" frameborder="" scrolling="" marginheight="" marginwidth="" src="">

Emerson College

The Emerson Acappellooza Fundraiser

Come celebrate our school with performances from our own four a cappella groups: Acapellics Anonymous, Noteworthy, Treble Makers, and Achoired Taste. It will be a night filled with school spirit, positive energy, and fun for any person who loves Emerson College. Proceeds will go to Emerson Scholarships and Emerson A cappella. Sponsored by Acappellics Anonymous with The Spirit […]

Calendar of Events